Technical Difficulties cd cover

Racer X

Technical Difficulties

In an unexpected move, Paul Gilbert left the money making machine Mr. Big to reunite his first band Racer X and return to his much faster and heavier playing style. Technical Difficulties is Racer X's first album in almost ten years. It's the line-up that the band ended with, but although Bruce Boulliet has some writing credits for the album, an injury prevented him from actually playing on the recording. The first half of the album is really good with Eric Martin singing better than ever, but the song writing on the second half is pretty weak. Nothing really stands out past track four. All in all though I'm happy to have Racer X back and look forward to more from them. --Scott

Average Rathole Visitor Rating8.8

Track Listing

  1. Phallic Tractor
  2. Fire of Rock
  3. Snakebite
  4. Technical Difficulties
  5. Miss Mistreater
  6. Bolt in My Heart
  7. 17th Moon
  8. Waiting
  9. Poison Eyes
  10. E.R.O.
  11. God of the Sun
  12. Give it to Me
  13. The Executioner's Song


VOCALS: Eric Martin
GUITAR: Paul Gilbert
BASS: John Alderete
DRUMS: Scott Travis


LABEL: Shrapnel Records
PRODUCED BY: Paul Gilbert
“We're fighting without a reason, it's time to end this great divide ...”