The Essential <font size=1> DISC 2</font> cd cover

Iron Maiden

The Essential DISC 2

Cashing in on the biggest name on their roster, Sanctuary has issued The Essential Iron Maiden. A double-disc greatest hits collection. It is, what it is. Nothing fancy or special here, even the packaging is boring. Claiming to be the Essential Maiden collection, I find it very odd that this is the only release out of more than two-dozen that doesnít display the bandís essential mascot Eddie on the cover. As a compilation though, it does itís job, gathering notable songs from all of their albums and all three singers. This cd is probably geared to the new fan, looking to get all of the hits without spending a lot of money, but itís not something you need if you already have all of their cds. --Scott

Average Rathole Visitor Rating7.7

Track Listing

  1. The Evil That Men Do
  2. Wasted Years
  3. Heaven Can Wait
  4. 2 Minutes to Midnight
  5. Aces High
  6. Flight of Icarus
  7. The Trooper
  8. The Number of the Beast
  9. Run to the Hills
  10. Wrathchild
  11. Killers
  12. Phantom of the Opera
  13. Running Free (live)
  14. Iron Maiden (live)


VOCALS: Bruce Dickinson
Paul Di'Anno
GUITAR: Dave Murray
Adrian Smith
BASS: Steve Harris
DRUMS: Nicko McBrain
Clive Burr


LABEL: Sanctuary
PRODUCED BY: various
“For the vry first time in your life, you've not been the last in line. You had to die instead of me. Do I have to live for you now?”