Greatest Hits 1985-1995 cd cover


Greatest Hits 1985-1995

The sisters Wilson at their finest, from (arguably) their finest era. Ann and Nancy are among the very small handful of women to break really big in metal, the other two being the living legends Joan Jett and Lita Ford. The music on this disc ranges from full-on, hard and heavy, Priest-style rock ("Black on Black II") to quieter ballads ("These Dreams"), and even the acoustic finale, "The Road Home," which sounds like an Indigo Girls tune. Scattered amongst the classics on this disc are two hard to find songs: Ann's duet with Robin Zander, "Surrender to Me," from the film "Tequila Sunrise," and the studio version of their Gulf War protest song "You're the Voice." Altogether, a great compilation, with liner notes by Gillian G. Gaar, the author of "She's a Rebel: The History of Women in Rock & Roll." - Anonymous

Average Rathole Visitor Rating8.3

Track Listing

  1. What About Love
  2. If Looks Could Kill
  3. Never
  4. These Dreams
  5. Nothin' At All
  6. Alone
  7. Who Will You Run To
  8. There's the Girl
  9. Surrender to Me (Ann Wilson and Robin Zander)
  10. All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You
  11. I Didn't Want to Need You
  12. Tall, Dark Handsome Stranger
  13. Stranded
  14. You're the Voice (studio version)
  15. Back to Avalon
  16. Black on Black II
  17. Will You Be There (In the Morning)
  18. The Road Home


VOCALS: Ann Wilson
Nancy Wilson
GUITAR: Nancy Wilson
Howard Leese
BASS: Mark Andes
Schuyler Deale
DRUMS: Denny Carmassi
KEYBOARDS: John Purdell


LABEL: Capitol
PRODUCED BY: Cheryl Pawleski
Brant Berry
and Paul Atkinson
“Take what you want, then you'll get what you need. Isn't that all that we're teaching? Slowly but surely we're planting the seed. Hey listen, there's no use in preaching.”