New Hope for the Wretched cd cover

The Plasmatics

New Hope for the Wretched

The Plasmatics' first full-length was a unique experience indeed. First of all, Chosei had departed, leaving Jean Beauvoir, the second in a long line of bassists, to take over. Secondly, the band finally proved to a worldwide audience why they were called the heaviest rock band in the world. Simply put, they made everyone on the punk scene sound like Barry Manilow. And we, of course, have the unique and singular visions of Wendy Orlean Williams and Rod Swenson to thank for it. --Anonymous

Average Rathole Visitor Rating8.1

Track Listing

  1. Tight Black Pants
  2. Monkey Suit
  3. Living Dead
  4. Test Tube Babies
  5. Won't You
  6. Concrete Shoes
  7. Squirm (live)
  8. Want You Baby
  9. Dreamlover
  10. Sometimes I
  11. Corruption
  12. Butcher Baby


VOCALS: Wendy O. Williams
GUITAR: Richie Stotts
Wes Beech
BASS: Jean Beauvoir
DRUMS: Stu Deutsch


LABEL: Stiff
PRODUCED BY: Rod Swenson
“I hate you. You are the devil incarnate.”